EDNZ 2018 Award Winners

Celebrating economic development professionals

In October 2018 Economic Development NZ celebrated the economic development professionals of NZ through its Annual Gala Awards Dinner.

The Awards recognise best practice in a number of important endeavours including:

  • Collaboration with Iwi, business and community
  • Innovation
  • Inward investment
  • Primary Research
  • Integrated planning

The Awards also celebrate the role of the individual practitioner through a Distinguished Service Award and an Honorary Life Membership Award.

The Awards were presented by Fletcher Tabuteau, Parliamentary Under-secretary for Regional Development during a glittering gala awards dinner.

Details of the 2018 winners for each category can be found below along with the contact details.

Best Practice – Collaboration with iwi, business and community

The winning nomination for Best Practice in Collaboration was: Smart Waikato for its Secondary Schools Employer Partnership

Contact: Mary Jensen 021 295 5951

Commendation for best practice collaboration

A commendation for best practice collaboration was awarded to the Matariki Strategy Governance Group for Project 1000.

Contact: Calvin Robinson – calvin.robinson004@msd.govt.nz

Best Practice – Inward Investment

Northland Inc for the Hawaiki Submarine Cable System

Contact: Vaughan Cooper: Northland Inc P(09) 438 9175, M 027 470 1051

Commendation for Best Practice – Inward Investment

Enterprise Great Lake Taupo for its shed to stock exchange initiative.


Kylie Hawker-Green
General Manager
Enterprise Great Lake Taupo
P 027 444 3939

Best Practice for Sustainable Development

Northland Inc for the Extension 350 project.

Contact: Luke Beehre – tel:+64 27 544 7839

Best Practice Award for Innovation


Contact: Amy Robens

Senior Communications Advisor – Business Innovation and Skills

DDI +64 9 365 0544 | M +64 21 399 544

Commendation for Best Practice Innovation

And the winner is the Central Economic Development Agency for NZ AgriFood Week.

Linda Stewart, CEO of CEDA

T: +64 6 350 1820
E: linda.stewart@ceda.nz

Best practice award for primary research

Winner of the BP award for primary research was: Enterprise North Canterbury for its Community Connector Project.

Heather Warwick, CEO of ENC

Email: heather@enterprisenc.co.nz
Phone: 03 327 5736

Premier Best Practice Award

The Premier best practice Award winner for 2018  was ATEED for the Tripartite Business Programme.

Honorary Life Membership of EDNZ

Honorary Life Membership of EDNZ

The panel has the opportunity to recognise the long and dedicated service of a practitioner who is retiring.

The winner has rendered conspicuous service to the profession. Which  includes involvement with EDNZ and its forerunner, contributions to economic development education, promotion of the profession to the wider community, representation of the profession in Government, non-Government, and community bodies or forums and the list goes on.

In recognition of that service the recipient has been granted Honorary Membership of EDNZ.

It is fitting that the first Honorary Member of EDNZ is: Stuart Trundle, CEO of Venture Taranaki.

P: 06 759 5150
E: ceo@venture.org.nz

Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award

The Award is EDANZ’s premier individual award and recognises the contribution of individuals to:

·         the image and practice of economic development

·         research that has advanced the theory or practice of economic development in NZ

·         the advance of EDANZ national or international recognition of the economic development profession within NZ

And the winner of the DSA was:

Dr David Wilson, Chair of EDNZ, CEO of Northland Inc

Contact: Dr David Wilson

Chair of EDNZ

P: 09 438 5110